FLO night at the club

Along I toddled to collect the items handed over back in early April. There were only the two of them as I’d done bugger all detecting over the winter and spring.

One was the Funny Looking Doodah that the son of the owner of my biggest permission showed me last autumn and asked if I knew what it was. The FLO confirmed her initial thoughts that this was part of the base of a cross, dating from anywhere between 1000AD and 1200AD, which now has me wondering where exactly it was found (the farmer’s son was rather vague when he showed it to me) as it might be evidence for a church or chapel on the land.

The other was the corroded Roman coin mentioned in the entry dated 25/10/2016 which was identified as a copper alloy radiate of Claudius II dating to the period AD 270-271, with a CONSECRATIO reverse.

Leave a comment